Understanding Michigan’s Statutes of Limitations Related to Asbestos

Share this post

As you sit in the doctor’s office and are being told that you have been diagnosed with lung cancer or mesothelioma, the last thing on your mind is what the Statute of Limitations is for filing an asbestos disease lawsuit.  You are thinking of treatments, ways to get better and spending time with family. But if you were like thousands of other men and women that worked in the trades such as millwrights, boilermakers, electricians, plumbers, pipefitters, mechanics, carpenters, steel workers, insulators, railroad workers, Great Lakes shipping, US Navy and many others, time is of the essence to file a claim.  There are laws in every state, including Michigan, that regulate the time you are allowed to file an asbestos disease case.

Some favorable news is that Michigan has one of the longest Statutes of Limitations in the country. Here in Michigan, you have 3 years from when you knew or should have known of your diagnosis of either lung cancer or mesothelioma to file a claim.

However, in Michigan, if the victim of these dreaded diseases unfortunately passes away before the 3 year period from the time of diagnosis is up, in most cases the family of the loved one is entitled to an additional 3 years to file a claim. For more specific information about the Statute of Limitations, contact the Serling & Abramson, P.C. law firm for a free consultation.